Thursday, February 05, 2009

What does he want?

I see John Key's at Waitangi and also he's already been hassled. One guy apparently said he's not doing enough for Maori.

One Question.

WHAT THE HELL ARE 'MAORI' DOING FOR THEMSELVES? HOW MANY 'MAORI' ARE ON THE BENEFIT AND CANT BE FAGGED GETTING OFF THEIR ARSE'S AND DO SOMETHING FOR THEMSELVES? HOW MANY 'MAORI' SPEND A MAJORITY OF THEIR BENEFITS ON BOOZE OR SMOKES RATHER THAN PERSONAL OR FAMILY CARE?

HOW MANY 'MAORI' KIDS FAIL AT SCHOOL AND HALF OF THAT IS BECAUSE THEY DON'T DO ANY HOMEWORK OR THEIR PARENTS WONT HELP THEM??? HOW MANY 'MAORI' KIDS FAIL AT SCHOOL BECAUSE THEY DONT GO BECAUSE THEY HAVE TO BABY SIT THE SIBBLINGS BECAUSE THE PARENTS ARE TOO DRUNK OR STONED TO DO IT?

How many 'Maori' women are in abusive relationships but don't do anything about it and stick around to get the bash? How many of our 'Maori' children are in homes where their parents are to whacked out on P or other drugs to provide for their kids? How many more Nia Glassie or Kahui incidents do we have to have before 'MAORI' will GET OFF THEIR OWN BUTTS and DO SOMETHING!!!

Its not easy, but this world is not going to be easy any more. If you want something you have to earn it and it means less play-station, and more action stations. Life is not lived in a game world.

Maybe that's more than one question but still. Its like blaming one boy racer for every issue that comes up. I don't want John Key to do anything for me other than make sure my streets are safe, education and health care are there for me to use if I need it, and I don't even want it to be free, but at least affordable. I don't mind getting a student loan for my education, because I should pay for it. Its mine then and I worked for it.

More often than not I see Maori and other ethnicity's as well, but I do see a lot of Maori with boxes of booze in one arm, kids under the other.

Now I know all Maori are not like this and in some instances I may be guilty of a stereotyping or a generalisation. But the thing is, others in New Zealand see and hear this comment, made by a Maori and I would hazard a guess, ask the same question? What do you want?

Is what you want going to make Maori better, or you better? Is what you want, if it is going to make Maori better, going to make the country better? Is what you want something for personal gratification?

So...Answer the question...What do you want? And make it real...Don't say land back, compensation...a sovereign parliament of your own...what is it you want?

Is it really any surprise?

Looking at a poll today on the Herald website, I had to think today whether it was any surprise that 60% of the 2,062 people who had taken the poll at the time thought that Waitangi Day is a day off.

Does anyone think that the atmosphere has long been dead because of all the muck around that usually gets associated with the day in years gone by? People throwing mud at politicians, protests galore, a general stroppy attitude gets tiring after a while. Something significant turns into something run of the mill.

I think Waitangi day has for me anyways, lost its meaning. Its like having birthdays. The novelty wore off when I turned 25 or maybe even earlier. Now I'm 30+ it just even means less. The irony is, that even after 169 years of living together, and all the best intentions under the sun, we still are stuck on the petty differences of opinion, and when one group doesnt agree with the other, they get stroppy and park themselves on land.

I was driving home from Wellington one holiday and on the side of the road just outside of Turangi there was a van parked stating that the 'person' was staging an occupation of land confiscated. I thought it was amusing. Its almost childish at times.

Down the road from where I lived at one stage was a group who were having a Tino rangatiratanga moment on what used to be a house held section. I guess some time before the house had burned down and it was never re-built. Even today its a relatively empty section. Their van was painted in the old Maori white and blue flag. They seemed to partly live off the land, and others off the neighbours electricity. Now, we hardly see any one there. Its an over gown plot of land which has a shell of a shack they used to cook on. Pretty much a hazard.

Then I remember the guy with the Maori Drivers licence and registration on the Highway Patrol show. That was amusing.

As I've grown older I've come to see the treaty more as a bone of contention rather than a sorce of unification and still today, cannot see its application in New Zealand's modern society. New Zealand has to some degree outgrown the application of it due to the multi-cultralism of this country as opposed to the once bi-culturalism. Is it fair to expect the Indian, Somalian, or the Martian for that matter to abide by something that the two primary parties cannot really abide by? Thats my thought on that.

Maori will always be disaffected by the wrongs done to them under the treaty and for the most part, they have a right to be. They were ripped off to some extent and quite harshly too in some cases. Many things were done in poor judgement by the English and whether the deception was intentional or not is now irrelevant. New Zealand could be a great nation, but is being held back by a document no one lives by and most don't even acknowledge.

(as at 11:22am today, the poll mentioned above now has 2,155 votes, 60% a day off, 27% as New Zealands national day, and 13% as the day the treaty was signed).

As for me? We'll myself and my family will be using it as a day to spend in spiritual retreats. But for the most part, its a day off for us. We're not going to Waitangi obviously, we may check out some things, but its a day off none the less.

(as at 11:30am today, the poll now has 2,200 votes, 60% (1,316) a day off, 27% (589) as New Zealands national day, and 13% (295) as the day the treaty was signed).

Take your pick.

Labels: , , ,

Wednesday, February 04, 2009

Glovegate - Auzzie Cricket - Did he cheat?

I've now seen the incident where Black Cap Neil Broom is 'dismissed' and where it seems Australian Wicket keeper Brad Haddin hit the stumps.

I've been looking at the rules. Here's what I can see defines this as a person being Bowled. The Laws of Cricket state;
1. Out Bowled
(a) The striker is out Bowled if his wicket is put down by a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a No ball, even if it first touches his bat or person.

(b) Notwithstanding (a) above he shall not be out Bowled if before striking the wicket the ball has been in contact with any other player or with an umpire. He will, however, be subject to Laws 33 (Handled the ball), 37 (Obstructing the field), 38 (Run out) and 39 (Stumped).

2. Bowled to take precedence
The striker is out Bowled if his wicket is put down as in 1 above, even though a decision against him for any other method of dismissal would be justified.

Following this definition, Broom was unfairly dismissed. There is enough video evidence and opinion from experienced cricket commentators and officials to determine that Haddin, right or wrong had his gloves forward of the stumps which would make any dismissal, bowled or caught behind invalid. I do not know if the third umpire can intervene in this kind of matter but it is certainly something that needs to be monitored.

When it comes to Haddin, this is the first time that I have heard of him being involved of something like this. It is sad that though an implication of cheating has been levied at him without even asking him for an explanation. Was it intentional? Did he realise how close his gloves were to the stumps?

Being an Australia V Australia series it is hard not to bring in the rivalry to the mix. But I do find it difficult to believe that Haddin did this on purpose. The thing is, I don't even know honestly if until much after he realised what had happened. Maybe that's me just giving him the benefit of the doubt. I have too.

I also have to say that Vettori was a bit quick off the mark and fired up in his allegations. He should have taken the time to address the issue carefully. Its good to see that they have somewhat cleared the air. First it was Symons and MaCullum and now Vettori and Haddin. Lets see how this next game goes. Good luck guys.

Monday, February 02, 2009

The Great Local Debate

I think its time for the big guy to have his two cents worth on this airport business.

Personally, while I try to be loyal, Air New Zealand has never been for me the best air line to travel. Their policies are often to rigid and prices for short hops amazingly insane. For example, for the cost of a return flight from Hamilton to Wellington, I could get a flight from Auckland to Brisbane. Its cheaper to drive...it may be much longer but at least you get to see stuff.

Even when smaller competitors came in, Air New Zealand didn't do much except buy them out...this returning to the one air line biz we've always known. Other carriers like Virgin and Quantas tried domestic flights from the minor metros like Hamilton but eventually caved to popular demand.

A flight from Hamilton to Wellington this week would cost me anywhere from $275 return or $474 return. My car would cost me $140 return at MAXIMUM. 12 hours driving but hell, I don't mind. Lots of time to think, sing and view this great country of ours. Stop and smell the roses instead of the airline gas.

I do find it interesting though that flying from Auckland and playing around with some dates that I could fly from Auckland to Wellington from anywhere from $127 return to $490. Hows that possible? Its a greater distance, different plane, bigger city. But I guess a more travelled route with more custom.

And there in to me lies one of the core issues. PATRONAGE and FAIR/FARE PRICING!!!

Why would you want to travel from Hamilton? It costs more? Whether that was intentional or not I don't know, but it would be hard to think it wasn't. You would think that flying from Hamilton to Wellington would be cheaper considering overall in flight time it takes about 15 minutes less time to get there depending on the air craft. The Saab pencil planes vs the jets or the twin engine turbo props or the Boeing 737.

The Stuff.co.nz websites report which I think would also be in the Waikato Times said this.

But Air New Zealand Tasman-Pacific manager Glen Sowry rejected suggestions the airline had shafted Hamilton.

"Regrettably the route was not commercially sustainable," he said. "We did what we could to develop the market through low fares and specials but unfortunately customer demand did not make that possible".

I believe only half of this. While I think there was an element of commercial sustainability which forced their hand I think their efforts to market the low fares were poorly timed, extremely limiting and the travel windows were so not in line with the needs of the general market.

For example, I recall a number of times looking at grab a seat promotions, but looking at the travel windows, as in when the flights were available, middle of the week, before the crack of dawn or late in the night, were never for me ideal times to take the flights to see my family. If I took the flight 1 way say on a Tuesday, if I wanted the same price return I had to come back within a 72 hour span of time or else it was normal price...some $175. The attitude of Air New Zealand seemed to be here are the options...we are flying you...take it or leave it.

To me, its like a no win situation in the general scheme of things.

But here is my other side of the coin.

In the air port scheme of things...Hamilton is not the biggest, or the brightest airport. You land smack in the middle of the sialage growing dairy farming capital of the north island. Corn patches on either side of you. I don't know much about run way lengths and planes needs but I doubt you could safely land a 747-400 there. Maybe an Airbus A-320 could land there...but what is Hamilton International Airport rated for. I don't think anything much bigger. I could be wrong.

What carrier would come into Hamilton from an international destination? What is it worth to them...especially now? Who's flying anywhere unless they have too? If I were an international carrier I would say guarantee me patronage, and I will come in on this day, this day and this day. But then, thats a guarantee the city cannot give. How can it in all reality?

While I would love to see it succeed, it's more convenient for me to go to Auckland and fly from there. I've got no problems with doing that! It's more of a gate way than Hamilton will be in the near future.

As for protesting against Air New Zealand? My wife is heading home for her brothers wedding in April and shes on Korean Air. Our last experience with Air New Zealand was hardly endearing to us so there we are.

Labels: ,

Troubled Teens? Is this the nations fault anyways?

Today, New Zealand Herald online is reporting that a 14 year old girl was stopped by police, being 4 months pregnant and six times over what would be the legal limit for a driver under 20. First...shes 14, second shes pregnant, third, shes drinking let alone driving in this condition.

Some time ago I blogged about New Zealand's alcohol problem and there is no sign that we are going to admit that we have one. You can't fix a problem that you don't believe you have. The addiage "its not the drinking, its how we're drinking" is a lie. Its a self assured lie.

When you have drunken hoons, teens or older driving what essentially become weapons, drinking to excess, hard alcohol, alco-pops, and there is little or no real consequence that these teens ever get. I think that they would see a close friend of thieirs die and they would not change their ways but blame the government.

There is no accountability on youth any more and unfortunately that is a part is the blame of the government. You take discipline out of the home, you remove any consequences for you, you reap what you sow and we have sown this issue.

You make alcohol available to those 18 and over when it used to be 20-21...the drinkers got younger and younger. Whats next? We've already made prostitution tolerable if not legal. Civil unions reduce the value of marriage.

These young people see the tragic consequences day after day and yet nothing changes for them. Just the other day a young teenager was killed in the cross fires of a Armed Offenders alert following the high speed chase and the guy being chased and shot at was high on P and drunk out of his skull. Boy racers in Christchurch attacking police officers cars. Boy racers and their noisy cars forcing the evacuation of a hospital. Drunken or stoned people attacking police officers.

There is nothing for responsibility any more. Fines aren't working. Confiscate and sell or destroy the cars if they don't pay. Solve the problem by getting rid of it. Why are these noisy muffler kits being sold anyways? How are these kids getting a hold of cars and having them 'fixed'? Who's paying for it? Is it time to slap the dealers and custom car outfits too? Maybe it is!!

I am honestly annoyed when in the early hours of the morning someone with a noisy car comes down my street, waking us up and also the elderly neighbours we have around us. Cars doing burnouts around our neighbourhood. One blew out its tires one time sending rubber and steal tread flying around and almost smashing into a power pole outside my house. Its not good at all.

Time to crack down and crack down hard!!!