Saturday, August 01, 2009

Reflective Moments

Its always this time of year along with Mothers Day that my thoughts turn to my late mother. It has been a difficult yet growing experience having been 23 when my mother passed way in November of 1998. It was a turning point in my life.

I will always be thankful for her influence in my growing years and even now her influence can be felt. How I tend to deal with people, those in need, how I view the spiritual aspects of my life can be traced back to her influence.

Many times in my life I watched her doing things many others considered wastes of time. Feeding the glue sniffing youth, bailing nephews out of jail, sticking up for them when no one else would, serving endlessly, taking those into her home who others considered untouchables or unwanted and helping them make changes in their life.

I don't think I ever had a bedroom to myself during my younger years. There was always someone coming to stay over for a little while, then years later they would leave...sometimes come back. The thing is, thats my mums legacy. The influence of her felt by others and their feelings of love and affection and memories of happiness.

But as a mother, I've seen few to equal her. I will always remember her, and while I miss her cuddles at times when I need them most, the most important thing to remember she is always with me, never leaving me...because a son...this son...her son...will never forget.

I love you mum.

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

The Paula Bennett Saga

This whole episode has been interesting to observe and to see the reaction...and to be honest, I've been surprised about the support behind the social development minister about this. But todays report in the herald called "Solo Mothers bruised by public reaction to benefits" kind of amused me.

Any time you put your sob story out there to be aired you put it into the wreckless field of public scrutiny...and man...the public can be harsh...especially if it comes out later that the full story is not being told.

Labour should have learned that last week when they used a guy who lost his engineering job, claiming poverty, then it was revealed he owned three other properties with a huge amount while living on a life-style block. Yes it was sad that he lost his job and was finding it difficult to get another one but hells bells, you have capital behind you. Slap for Labour...firstly for putting this guy in the limelight but even you guys know you should have done your homework.

As for these solo mothers, I'm 50/50 about the cutting of the Training Incentive Allowance...but one point is well made by one of them...make it a loan or a re-payable grant, similar conditions to a student loan, or increase the amount borrowable under the student loan system similar to the TIA, but stop the TIA being a handout.

I guess much like the student loans, there are ways of the TIA being abused and not being used what it was meant to be for. But its a better option than simply handing out dollar after dollar hoping for something in return.

Personally, I think Bennett's done the right thing and is looking at options.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10587483

Labels: , ,

Monday, July 27, 2009

Whats next for the onsie...


I think there are just some things that you do not put on kids clothing. Horrific gory images, suggestive images, but for the love of all that is relatively decent in this decaying world, why slogans like, "I'm a tits man", or "the condom broke" and so on.

I mean, "I'm living proof that my mum is easy"??? What the hell. "Mummy likes it on top"? This goes beyond the joke I am sure its supposed to be!

To be honest, to some degree I can see the humour, but I have to look pretty deep and switch off some sensitivities in order to do it.

But then its not surprising...its an Australian firm that came up with the idea.

I will be interested in sales figures...but there are some things like these slogans that should not be any where near a baby body.

Imagine their disgust when they look back and photos of themselves promoting how easy it was to get their mother in the sack or something perhaps even more sinister...or that they were a mistake...not only does it objectify parents, mothers in particular, but makes the child the object of the objectification.

Maybe there is room to lighten up a little, but not a hell of a lot. Get rid of them is my vote.

Labels: