Tuesday, January 11, 2011

New Zealand Cricket

A report on the Stuff website has brought about a real issue that needs to be fronted. Are people getting value for money when we go to Black Caps international games...or are we being ripped off?

Right now...Rip off is the right word.

A while back I inquired online as to the costs of going to a cricket game at Seddon Park here in Hamilton. There were 3 scheduled for this summer. A T20, test match and an ODI. The cost of the T20 and ODI are about $20+fees to enter, and if you wanted to go the test it was $75 for the 5 days or any-one day was $25. Though it equates that if you paid $75 then you paid $25 a day, which was a waste in my view.

When I went to HRV (Domestic) T20 games I got a little more excitement, though I paid a little less for them (and at times nothing, Thank you MORE FM), for the most part these domestic games, were far more entertaining than the Internationals.

But is it worth going to domestic ODI's and test matches where the entertainment value is minimal, stadium food prices excessive and the outcome most times, more than predictable? Why should I go to the stadium for around $30, spend $4.00 on a 360ml drink, $4.00 for a cup of chips, and watch them lose in 'dramatic fashion' as described by 3News.

Their losses to Bangladesh and India are hardly forgotten. Two good wins in the T20's but this last weekends flash drop in the 2nd innings in what has to be one of the most boring tests I've ever watched, I couldn't believe I turned to lawn bowls for entertainment. Well...almost. But while I know tests are the traditional and longest form of the game, but still, this test just was soooo friggin boring. The Ashes which were tests, were entertaining. Maybe that's a commentator thing, but those games were at least interesting.

Maybe the Black Caps are tired. Maybe they play to much during the year in international games and tournaments, rather than focusing on their domestic responsibilities. Maybe they are cricketed out. Domestic leagues, the IPL, internationals against sub-continents, then home games. The same question was raised about the All Blacks some time ago, about them playing NPC, Super rugby then playing internationals. Granted rugby is a more physical game and more recovery time is needed, but still, you can get worn out, standing around all that time in the field.

Are they being paid above their play grade? Is Ross Taylor worth the cool million he just got auctioned for at the IPL auction? Did that distract him? Hell, why wouldn't it be?

The thing is that our cricketers arent living up to that of an international scale team. The T20's were boring, we're yet to see if the ODI's will be somewhat entertaining and the start of tomorrows test will be anything remotely resembling competitive. I guess why they are starting on a Saturday, so people actually come before day 3 when its all over.

I may sound overly cynical and perhaps I'm being too tough on them. But they are supposed to be elite players. They should harden up and take the game seriously.

Labels: , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home