Friday, October 08, 2010

Why So Serious

The wonderful performance by the late Heath Ledger in the movie 'The Dark Knight' brought about the question that to me seems to be appropriate right now. Perhaps not being asked in the same maniacal manner as his Joker character, but none the less, the sentiment is the same.

"Why so serious?"

This weeks media seems to be absorbed by the Paul Henry saga which I have already blogged about. My original thoughts and feelings about the whole event remain as I have already stated.

I wonder if there is a matter of taking ourselves far to seriously. How has one man and one comment said in the stupidity of the moment caused such an up-roar, and as it seems not just domestically. Are we so petty that we've let this happen?

We tell Irish, Scottish, Blonde, Maori, Island, Indian jokes all the time. I've told hundreds of them over the years. I've heard self deprecating humour from all of these and other ethnic groups. We here and in many other lands enjoy the performances of the Laughing Samoans. Are they not considered racist because they are poking fun at themselves and are we racist for laughing at another culture?

I understand completely the need to respect peoples cultures and names but sometimes you just can't help having a chuckle. Indian government Minister Sheila Dikshit? Who is not going to have a go at this one? Sometimes I wonder if parents give kids names which for sure are going to cause some stir. I believe it is pronounced Dixit of course but unless you had been initiated in the correct pronunciation, you could blow it easy. Even the Governor Generals name...Anand Satyanand is prone to being said incorrectly.

Having had friends who worked at call centres I have heard all sorts of names. Rholinda Crapp is one. Dabig Potti is another. Alison Gator...you just need to look at the phone book and you could have all sorts of fun. Are we then racist if we have a chuckle at a name from another ethnic group sounding funny?

Are we homophobic if we do not agree with the homosexual way of life? I love and respect my friends who live that way however my own personal view, as well as my religious beliefs do not align with an agreement with living that way. Does that mean I am homophobic?

Am I against blondes because I like a good blonde joke? Am I racist against Irish people because I tell Irish jokes? Hardly.

According to the all knowing Wikipedia, racism is defined as "the belief that the genetic factors which constitute race are a primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race".

When Mr Henry made his ill-advised comments on TV on Monday morning with the Prime Minister I find it hard to believe that he was expressing a notion of superiority. A notion of stupidity sure but I do not think he was intentionally placing himself in a level of superiority.

I would consider those in that category to be a part of the Neo-Nazi or KKK, or other radical groups of a similar vein. None of which I think Paul Henry belongs to, affiliates with or falls into the category of.

On the Stuff website there was a report of two young women from Wellington who felt that Henry's comments had stripped them of their national identity. (See http://www.stuff.co.nz/entertainment/tv/4215154/Paul-Henry-opponents-complain-of-abuse). It is amazing what some have allowed one person to do by some stupid comment. Strip ourselves of the feeling that I am a New Zealander. I think that is something of a scapegoat excuse.

I often wonder if we even have a serious national identity? I some times envy other nations. Just simply by their anthems there is a sense of a national identity. Regardless of the internal politics or the issues of the past of some similarity, there is at least a sense of national identity and unity. Ours? To stop pissing people off we had to make it a rule that our National Anthem is sung in two languages.

Now Mr Henry has resigned from TVNZ but will it be enough? Prime Minister John Key says that it will bring closure. I don't think it will. I think its as useful as disqualifying a driver. They still are able to drive as has been proven time and time again. You can take someones lisence from them but they still know how to drive. Paul will still have a mouth to use and an opinion to share. Which is really, all he did.

He wasn't discriminating on purpose...it was something said in the moment which was really dumb and it hit a sensitivity bone that pokes out far too much in our society these days.

So...Breakfast TV will have a new look. Imagine, if Sunrise kept on TV3, they might have a shot now with Henry gone.

Labels: , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home