Friday, February 11, 2011

All Whites & The Helbergs

I'm somewhat undecided on the choice of the Supreme winners of the Helberg Awards last night. But it is indeed a questionable choice. While they simply being there is an achievement in itself and there is a collective no doubt that they did not lose any of their games, but the reverse is also true...they didn't win a single one either.

They had some wins in qualifying, but games since the world cup have been disasterous defeats and a loss of any gains made at the world cup. I don't believe any one thought in this country that The All Whites would make it past pool play. Personally, I didn't. I knew there was a limited chance of them making the play-offs at all, and that would have been an accomplishment worthy of the award, but, and I am sorry to say this, it would be like awarding the Black Caps the same award after their recent form and with their current record.

You look at the supreme winners in the past decade. Rob Widdell, Sarah Ulmer, The Evers-Swindell sisters, Valerie Villi (Adams), Michael Campbell, all gold medalists or world title holders at the time they were awarded. There was one exception to that list. The 2002 winners, the Tall Blacks went into the World Championships at a world ranking of 23rd and walked out 4th. First timers of the tournament. The All Whites, went in 57th, and now 64th? At most they have been 47 according to the FIFA Website.

Now, simply because the Tall Blacks ultimately did not win a world title I am not contending that only those who win, should get the ultimate Helberg prize. Their achievement was amazing, and it hasn't been repeated, but international teams take us seriously now on the hardwood.

I think someone mentioned today that The Black Ferns, 3 times world champions were'nt even finalists and I have to agree that was wrong to the extreme. They deserved to be finalists, and even should have been team of the year if not ultimate winners. Hey, if the Silver Ferns can do it once in the 2000's, surely the Black Ferns should have got a nod.

Ultimately, I don't think the team of the year is out of place. But I think the supreme award is a bit rich. If they did a little more around the cup, before and after games, played more and won more, or at least held back some top 10 or 20 teams? Then maybe look at the big Helberg.

For the record...When we beat Bahrain those two times...Bahrain is ranked 93rd.

Labels: ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home