Wednesday, February 04, 2009

Glovegate - Auzzie Cricket - Did he cheat?

I've now seen the incident where Black Cap Neil Broom is 'dismissed' and where it seems Australian Wicket keeper Brad Haddin hit the stumps.

I've been looking at the rules. Here's what I can see defines this as a person being Bowled. The Laws of Cricket state;
1. Out Bowled
(a) The striker is out Bowled if his wicket is put down by a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a No ball, even if it first touches his bat or person.

(b) Notwithstanding (a) above he shall not be out Bowled if before striking the wicket the ball has been in contact with any other player or with an umpire. He will, however, be subject to Laws 33 (Handled the ball), 37 (Obstructing the field), 38 (Run out) and 39 (Stumped).

2. Bowled to take precedence
The striker is out Bowled if his wicket is put down as in 1 above, even though a decision against him for any other method of dismissal would be justified.

Following this definition, Broom was unfairly dismissed. There is enough video evidence and opinion from experienced cricket commentators and officials to determine that Haddin, right or wrong had his gloves forward of the stumps which would make any dismissal, bowled or caught behind invalid. I do not know if the third umpire can intervene in this kind of matter but it is certainly something that needs to be monitored.

When it comes to Haddin, this is the first time that I have heard of him being involved of something like this. It is sad that though an implication of cheating has been levied at him without even asking him for an explanation. Was it intentional? Did he realise how close his gloves were to the stumps?

Being an Australia V Australia series it is hard not to bring in the rivalry to the mix. But I do find it difficult to believe that Haddin did this on purpose. The thing is, I don't even know honestly if until much after he realised what had happened. Maybe that's me just giving him the benefit of the doubt. I have too.

I also have to say that Vettori was a bit quick off the mark and fired up in his allegations. He should have taken the time to address the issue carefully. Its good to see that they have somewhat cleared the air. First it was Symons and MaCullum and now Vettori and Haddin. Lets see how this next game goes. Good luck guys.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home