Monday, February 02, 2009

Troubled Teens? Is this the nations fault anyways?

Today, New Zealand Herald online is reporting that a 14 year old girl was stopped by police, being 4 months pregnant and six times over what would be the legal limit for a driver under 20. First...shes 14, second shes pregnant, third, shes drinking let alone driving in this condition.

Some time ago I blogged about New Zealand's alcohol problem and there is no sign that we are going to admit that we have one. You can't fix a problem that you don't believe you have. The addiage "its not the drinking, its how we're drinking" is a lie. Its a self assured lie.

When you have drunken hoons, teens or older driving what essentially become weapons, drinking to excess, hard alcohol, alco-pops, and there is little or no real consequence that these teens ever get. I think that they would see a close friend of thieirs die and they would not change their ways but blame the government.

There is no accountability on youth any more and unfortunately that is a part is the blame of the government. You take discipline out of the home, you remove any consequences for you, you reap what you sow and we have sown this issue.

You make alcohol available to those 18 and over when it used to be 20-21...the drinkers got younger and younger. Whats next? We've already made prostitution tolerable if not legal. Civil unions reduce the value of marriage.

These young people see the tragic consequences day after day and yet nothing changes for them. Just the other day a young teenager was killed in the cross fires of a Armed Offenders alert following the high speed chase and the guy being chased and shot at was high on P and drunk out of his skull. Boy racers in Christchurch attacking police officers cars. Boy racers and their noisy cars forcing the evacuation of a hospital. Drunken or stoned people attacking police officers.

There is nothing for responsibility any more. Fines aren't working. Confiscate and sell or destroy the cars if they don't pay. Solve the problem by getting rid of it. Why are these noisy muffler kits being sold anyways? How are these kids getting a hold of cars and having them 'fixed'? Who's paying for it? Is it time to slap the dealers and custom car outfits too? Maybe it is!!

I am honestly annoyed when in the early hours of the morning someone with a noisy car comes down my street, waking us up and also the elderly neighbours we have around us. Cars doing burnouts around our neighbourhood. One blew out its tires one time sending rubber and steal tread flying around and almost smashing into a power pole outside my house. Its not good at all.

Time to crack down and crack down hard!!!