Saturday, April 25, 2009

The Greens in Mt Albert...has someone called Tui yet?

So...Russell Norman is going to contest Mt Albert in the upcoming Bi-Election for the Greens. Why?

I found it funny that a purely unscientific TV poll showed that not a heck of a lot of people know who he is. Yep...hes been on the prowl there now for a couple of days but still, takes time to build that kind of trust to make someone your MP...ask Tim Macindoe.

But who is Russell Norman.

Who cares.

Its another minor party, set on a purely political agenda who is scratching for some sense of legitimacy and who will have one less legitimate leadership person come the retirement of Fitzsimmons. When ever that happens.

Personally, the Greens do give some perspective to our political spectrum. Unfortunately all I've seen has been the negative spectrum. Sue Bradford and the Anti-Smacking legislation. Nandor and his constant attempts to legalise dope. I think only one person there has a relative level of sanity in them, and yet I think at times shes on the edge of extreme. Materia Turei.

If I was in Mt Albert, I'd be careful of Norman. He doesn't live in the area, would likely only live there if he won. But he has no connection the people long term. There is a reason why Helen Clark had it for so long and why its only had 6 MP's since it was formed. But thats going to be the problem for anyone going into that electorate. Are they going to get the same attention they got from Uncle Helen.

Labour can't rely on the old loyalties. They've started the campaign without officialy announcing who is going to be standing, though I understand there are a number of people interested in standing. For internal political reasons I heard they do not want to use a current sitting List MP because that would free up some soom and the less than favoured Judith Tizard would be back in. So they will have to take someone who is not a current sitting MP and win the electorate.

I'm really surprised we havent heard from NZ First yet. Are they still around? Do we still care?

But the Greens? Keep trying guys...maybe one day one of you will win an electorate. Then like Rodney Hyde, you might be taken a little more seriously.

Labels: , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home