Thursday, February 26, 2009

Maybe its because I'm male

Maybe this is something that is simply to do with the fact that I'm a guy, but I just don't really get it.

Today I read an article on the Stuff news website about a couple who were planning a wedding that is not going to happen because of the recession, and the bride to be, has lost her job, and they are now on one income. What I don't get is the price tag on the wedding. $15,000.

Now I know its a big day, has to be nice and special, but the amount of money spent on that wedding is a significant chunk to a deposit on a house. Personally, I would have an issue with any person I went to marry who wanted to spend a five figured sum on a wedding, whether I had the money or not.

Now I'm not saying Valentines is the answer but the idea that having guests pay for coming is not a bad idea. Why on earth should a newly wedded couple pay for the lot themselves?

My wifes wedding dress was custom made. Beautiful dress for a beautiful woman, $175USD. Our reception, all up including a luncheon for distance travelers was just over $1,000 mostly funded by her parents, but some of her own savings. My suits, 4 of them, my grooms party of myself, best man and groomsman, plus my father in law, $360USD, and we had them for 3 days...not too bad considering. We also had a reception here in New Zealand that was an invitation for people to bring some food along as opposed to a gift, $250 NZD. Venue was free. Decorations were from gardens of friends.

Now I have to be honest here, my ring was more expensive than the one I purchased for my wife. That was out of simple ignorance and also, my poor budget...but then, I look on the rings as a symbol of something far more meaningful. Why on earth you would spend a four figure sum on a ring which can be lost, damaged, and eventually not worn for different reasons, work, play, washing, who knows. But then, unless the person respects the institute of marriage, then the ring is just a decoration. If its taken off, then they are single and play like they used too.

When it comes down to it...what is the most important thing? The how? The where? The when? The cost? I mean, what is the point of spending thousands of dollars on a day? I don't see the need for 22 bridesmaids and matching groomsmen, 9 page boys and accompanying girls, a $9,000 dress worn once. 3 stretched hummer limos? Hell, I went to my wedding in a Dodge truck and then from the reception drove a Ford Taurus. First time around I think it was a Nissan Skyline 4-door hatch then home to Wellington the next day in a Toyota HiAce that decided not to work properly and certainly had seen better days.

The wedding is but the smallest and shortest part of the whole event of a marriage. Granted, the day is the day. But should that day cost a five figure sum?

Labels: , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home